Johnny Drille Video Playlist

John Ighodaro (born July 5, 1990), professionally known as Johnny Drille, is a Nigerian singer and songwriter. His career came into the spotlight when he released a cover of “Awww” by Di’Ja. He is currently signed to Mavin Records.

Johnny Drille was born and raised in Edo State, Nigeria. His father is a school principal and clergyman. He has four siblings. Drille started singing in his father’s church at an early age.

He attended the University of BeninBenin City, where he studied English and Literature.

Drille began his musical career in church. He was one of the contestants on the sixth season of Project Fame West Africa in 2013. In 2015, he released a cover of Di’Ja‘s “Awww”, which caught the attention of Mavin‘s CEO Don Jazzy. His debut single “Wait for Me” was released in 2015. It was nominated for Best Alternative Song at The Headies 2016. He teamed up with Niniola, a fellow season 6 contestant, to record “Start All Over”.

In February 2017, he signed a record deal with Mavin Records.On September 3, 2021, he released his debut album, which consists of a fourteen track project,before we fall asleep featuring Nigerian and artists, Ayra Starr, Ladipoe, Lagos community choir, Don Jazzy,Chylde,Kwitte, Cilsoul and the classic afro R&B group, Syl plus under the label Mavin Records.

(Visited 8 times, 1 visits today)